Cornwell, Kerschen Named to River Valley Conference Elite Team


Jeff Yoder Photo /

Your Prep Sports

In his first season leading the Regina boys basketball program Jared Galpin directed the Regals to 18 wins, a conference title and a spot in the district championship game.

This week Galpin was recognized for his work when the River Valley Conference announced its postseason awards.

Galpin was named the RVC South Division coach of the year after directing Regina to the South Division title.

The Regals had four players earn postseason recognition while West Branch had four players honored by the conference.

Regina senior Jocoa Kerschen and West Branch junior Beau Cornwell were both named to the 10-member RVC Elite team that consists of the top players from both the North and South Divisions.

West Branch and Regina each had a pair of players selected to the South Division squad.

A 6-foot-4 guard, Kerschen led Regina in scoring at 12.5 points per game and was second on the team with 3.8 rebounds per game.

Cornwell led the River Valley Conference in scoring with 23.3 points per game and led West Branch in rebounding (7.4), assists (2.6) and steals (2.8).

Regina sophomores Masen Miller and Even Brauns were both named to the South Division team along with West Branch senior Ben Thompson and sophomore Tanner Lukavsky.

Miller averaged 11.9 points and a team-high three assists per game for Regina while shooting 44 percent from 3-point range.

The 6-foot-9 Brauns averaged 10.3 points and 5.1 rebounds per game and led the conference in blocked shots averaging 3.1 per contest.  

Lukavsky averaged 10.9 points and six rebounds per game for West Branch while Thompson averaged 10.2 points and 4.1 rebounds per game.

Brady Lukavsky was an honorable mention selection for West Branch while senior Jake Phillips earned honorable mention status for Regina.

River Valley Conference Boys Basketball All-Conference Teams

Elite Team – Dev Patel, Sr., Camanche; Luke Empen, Sr., Northeast ; Haris Hoffman, Jr.,Cascade; Logan Hoffman, Sr., Tipton; Cameron Soenksen, Soph., Camanche; Brock Simon, Sr., Cascade; Johnny Supple, Sr., Cascade; Cade Daugherty, Sr., Bellevue; Beau Cornwell, Jr., West Branch; Jocoa Kerschen, Sr., Regina

South Division Team – Masen Miller, Soph., Regina; Even Brauns, Soph., Regina; Andrew Stewart, Jr., Tipton; Jacob Tischuk, Jr., Tipton; Tanner Lukavsky, Soph., West Branch; Ben Thompson, Sr., West Branch; Easton Botkins, Jr., Durant; Mason Compton, Jr., Durant; Seth Feldman, Jr., West Liberty; Cale Robertson, Jr., Mid-Prairie.

South Division Honorable Mention – Jake Phillips, Sr., Regina; Frank Bierman, Soph., Tipton; Brady Lukavsky, Jr., West Branch; Bryce Lafrenz, Jr., Durant; Tom Butters, Jr., Mid-Prairie; Jared Townsend, Jr., Wilton; Brent Meyers, Jr., West Liberty

South Division Coach of the Year – Jared Galpin, Regina

North Division Team – Caleb Delzell, Soph., Camanche; Gannon O’Brien, Sr., Cascade; Derek Koppes, Sr., Cascade; Braeden Hoyer, Jr., Northeast; Dawson Stoll, Jr., Northeast; Alex Nealson, Sr., Monticello; Justin Recker, Fr., Monticello; Ethan Sahr, Soph., North Cedar; Mason Minar, Sr., North Cedar; Collin Swanton, Sr., Northeast  

North Division Honorable Mention – Trey Daugherty, Jr., Bellevue; Reid Rausch, Jr., Cascade; Jordan Lawrence, Fr., Camanche; Kyle Sperfslage, Sr., Monticello; Greg Hansen, Sr., North Cedar; Trey McAleer, Soph., Northeast

North Division Coach of the Year – Jacob Brindle, Cascade