Gallagher, Perreira Headline Area All-WAMAC Selections


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

Clear Creek Amana had a pair of players named to the WAMAC West Division first team when the league announced its postseason honors on Thursday.

Sophomore Carsyn Gallagher and junior Amelia Perreira both earned first-team WAMAC West Division honors for the first time.

Gallagher earned first time honors after leading the Clippers with 17 goals and adding six assists.

Perreira was a second-team pick a year ago and had four assists for the Clippers this season.

Seniors Carolina Herrera and Taylor Fuller were both named to the West Division second team.

Herrera had three goals and one assist while Fuller had a goal and three assists to help Clear Creek Amana finish 10-9.

Sophomore Ellie Waterbury and junior Lillian Hennes each earned honorable mention status.

Solon senior Megan Tucker was a first-team East Division selection for the second year in a row after leading the Spartans with six assists and scoring a career-high three goals.

Seniors Briana Smith and Chandler DeWitt were both second-team East Division selections for the Spartans.

Smith ranked second on the team with five goals.

Hailey Melchert and Jill Richards were both honorable mention picks.

WAMAC All-Conference Girls Soccer

East Division

First Team – McKenzie Arens, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Lauren Shaull, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Sydney Arens, Jr., Dyersville Beckman; Ashley Engleken, Soph., Dyersville Beckman; Chloe Baumgartner, Sr., Western Dubuque; Alexis Banks, Jr., Western Dubuque; Alisa Marin, Soph., Western Dubuque; Kristen Elliott, Sr., Mount Vernon; Sammy Moss, Jr., Mount Vernon; Maggie Murphy, Sr., Central DeWitt; Sydney Small, Sr., Central DeWitt; Emma Snyder, Sr., Anamosa; Brooklyn Waller, Sr., Maquoketa; Megan Tucker, Sr., Solon.

Second Team – Claire Grebner, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Tara Hansel, Jr., Dyersville Beckman; Kennedy Arens, Fr., Dyersville Beckman; Morgan Staner, Sr., Western Dubuque; Taylor Fox, Sr., Western Dubuque; Alina Merlak, Jr., Mount Vernon; Emma Rodman, Fr., Mount Vernon; Ashley Goldensoph, Sr., Central DeWitt; Laiken McAleer, Sr., Central DeWitt; Aubrey Nemmers, Sr., Anamosa; Hannah Hauck, Sr., Anamosa; Jenna Yeager, Sr., Maquoketa; Alissa Vance, Sr., Maquoketa; Brianna Smith, Sr., Solon; Chandler DeWitt, Sr., Solon; Alissa Holtz, Fr., West Delaware.

Honorable mention (area athletes only) – Hailey Melchert, Soph., Solon; Jill Richards, Solon.

Coach of the year – Greg Keegan, Dyersville Beckman

West Division

First Team – Raegon Dufoe, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Allie Wooldridge, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Adrianna Katcher, Soph., Center Point-Urbana; Alexa Coller, Jr., Center Point-Urbana; Naomi Smith, Jr., Marion; Grace Coates, Fr., Marion; Mia Laube, Sr.., Marion; Carsyn Gallagher, Soph., Clear Creek Amana; Amelia Pereira, Jr., Clear Creek Amana; Jadah Krieger, Sr., Independence; Leah Borgerding, Soph., Independence; Olivia Terrones, Soph., South Tama; Lydia Rethwisch, Jr., Williamsburg; Taylor Berry, Sr., Vinton-Shellsburg.

Second Team – Jordan VanVors, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Tori Halder, Jr., Center Point-Urbana; Sydney Boevers, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Grace Byers, Jr., Marion; Kayba Laube, Soph., Marion; Carolina Herrera, Sr., Clear Creek Amana; Taylor Fuller, Sr., Clear Creek Amana; Payton Ruckdaschel, Jr., Independence; Tara Dryml, Sr., Independence; Emily Terrones, Sr., South Tama; Sadie Smith, Sr., South Tama; Mia Kittleson, Jr., Williamsburg; Erin Francois, Fr., Williamsburg; Kamryn Lillie, Sr., Vinton-Shellsburg; Elisabeth Davis-Walker, Sr., Vinton-Shellsburg; Alyssa Kochuyt, Jr., Benton Community. 

Honorable mention (area athletes only) – Ellie Waterbury, Soph., Clear Creek Amana; Lillian Hennes, Jr., Clear Creek Amana

Coach of the year – Todd Mitchell and Richard Plante, Center Point-Urbana