West High's Ambo Named MVC Mississippi Division Player of the Year


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

City High and West High both had their seasons end at the state soccer tournament last week.

The postseason awards began rolling in for both teams on Monday.

West High junior Gada Ambo earned athlete of the year honors, West High coach Brad Stiles was named coach of the year and West High and City High had a combined seven players earn first-team honors when the Mississippi Valley Conference announced its postseason honors on Monday.

Ambo was named the Mississippi Division athlete of the year to headline the list of MVC postseason awards for West High.

The junior forward scored a team-high 18 goals and added seven assists and joined sophomore Micah Frisbie, junior Joseph Kuehn and senior Harry Zielinski on the Mississippi Division first team.

Frisbie had 10 goals and an assist while Zielinski and Kuehn were both stalwarts in the Trojan back line.

Kuehn had a goal and an assist on the season while Zielinski added two goals and three assists. Seniors Patrick Shirazi and Ahmed Abdalla and sophomores Brody Schilling and Tomas Sanchez were all second-team picks in the Mississippi Division for West High while juniors Coleson Krupp and Zach Albright were honorable mention selections.

Stiles was named Mississippi Division coach of the year after directing the Trojans to an 18-5 record, a Mississippi Division title and a trip to the 3A state tournament.

City High had three players named to the Valley Division first team in sophomore Adam Engelbrecht and seniors Jackson Meyer and John Clark.

Clark led the Little Hawks with 18 goals and added two assists while Engelbrecht and Meyer ranked among the top defenders in the MVC and helped City High allow just 13 goals on the season.

Meyer had two goals while Engelbrecht added two goals and three assists.

Seniors Jonah Dancer and Amani Sila were both named to the Valley Division second team while Ethan and Hunter teDuits were both honorable mention selections.

Mississippi Valley Conference 2018 Boys Soccer All-Division Selection

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the Year – Gada Ambo, Jr., West High

Coach of the Year – Brad Stiles, West High

Keeper of the Year – Seth Lukefahr, Jr., Linn-Mar; Cameron Haugen, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert

First team – Gada Ambo, Jr., West High; Micah Frisbie, Soph., West High; Harry Zielinski, Sr., West High; Joseph Kuehn, Jr., West High; Thomas Bean, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Andrija Mijatovic, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Danny Peak, Sr., Linn-Mar; Grant Wagner, Sr., Linn-Mar; Trenton Dodds, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Jared Block, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Vidal Rubio, Sr., Waterloo West; Adijan Muhamedagic, Sr., Waterloo West; Cody Christoffersen, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Tim Ratchford, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

Second team – Ahmed Abdalla, Sr., West High; Brody Schilling, Soph., West High; Patrick Shirazi, Sr., West High; Tomas Sanchez, Soph., West High; Will Hanigan, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Tyler Steffensmeier, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Patrick Talley, Sr., Linn-Mar; Slava Boehm, Soph., Linn-Mar; Nathan Donovan, Fr., Dubuque Wahlert; Zach Berning, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Edvin Rizvic, Jr., Waterloo West; Blaze Bouzek, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Admir Velic, Sr., Waterloo East

Honorable mention (Area athletes only) – Coleson Krupp, Jr., West High; Zachary Albright, Jr., West High

All-Academic (Area athletes only) – Anthony Shirazi, Sr., West High; Patrick Shirazi, Sr., West High

Valley Division

Athlete of the Year – Andrew Hammer, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Coach of the Year – Curt Lewis, Cedar Rapids Prairie

Keeper of the Year – Chase Harrison, Cedar Rapids Prairie

First team – Mateaus Lewis, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Boston Riley, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Caleb Halleran, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Adam Engelbrecht, Soph., City High; Jackson Meyer, Sr., City High; John Clark, Sr., City High; Andrew Hammer, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Keaton Woods, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Alan Kim, Soph., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Alex Stone, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Chimzim Ogbondah, Sr., Cedar Falls; Harrison Hall, Jr., Cedar Falls; Carsen Bellis, Sr., Dubuque Senior

Second team – Jayce Smith, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Andrew Russell, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Abdi Abdi, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Jonah Dancer, Sr., City High; Amani Sila, Sr., City High; Merci Ngiriweneza, Soph., Cedar Rapids Washington; Rami Scheetz, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Yusef Igram, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Curtis Ratzer, Soph., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Benny Bundi, Jr., Cedar Falls; Oskar Brocka, Jr., Cedar Falls; Benedict Schultz, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Matt Williams, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead

Honorable mention (Area athletes only) – Ethan teDuits, Sr., City High; Hunter teDuits, Sr., City High

All-Academic (Area athletes only) – Ethan teDuits, Sr., City High; John Clark, Sr., City High; Jackson Meyer, Sr., City High