City High's Meurice Named MVC Valley Division Keeper of the Year


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

For the second straight season Naomi Meurice has been recognized as one of the top goalkeepers in the Mississippi Valley Conference

Meurice was named MVC Valley Division keeper of the year on Monday when the conference announced its postseason awards.

It was the second consecutive season Meurice was named division keeper of the year and this season the City High junior added first-team all-division honors to her list of postseason awards for the first time.

Meurice made 111 saves while allowing 19 goals in 17 matches and posted six shutouts.

The .854 save percentage for Meurice ranked eighth in Class 3A.

City High junior Madelynn Fontana joined Meurice on the Valley Division first team after helping the Little Hawks to a 10-7 record.

Fontana scored two goals and added an assist for the Little Hawks this season.

Senior Sydney DePrenger and freshman Callie Menzel were both second-team Valley Division picks for City High.

DePrenger led the Little Hawks with eight goals and seven assists while Menzel had a goal in her varsity debut season.

Juniors Sam Schroder and Ella Hennager earned honorable mention status for City High.

West High senior Holly Paulsen was named to the Mississippi Division second team after scoring a goal and adding an assist this season.

Senior Carlin Morsch and junior Kennedy Hochstedler were honorable mention selections in the Mississippi Division.

Mississippi Valley Conference Girls Soccer All-Division Selections

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the year – Abigail Santana, Soph., Linn-Mar

Keeper of the year – Izzy Guyer, Jr., Waterloo

Coach of the year – Chris Worthley, Waterloo

First team – Abigail Santana, Soph., Linn-Mar; Annika Menges, Sr., Linn-Mar; Piper Carey, Soph., Linn-Mar; Hannah Suskind, Soph., Linn-Mar; Anna Kimball, Jr., Linn-Mar; Paige Diebod, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Tana Felton, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Caitlynn Daniels, Soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Molly Kinney, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Jordan Trost, Sr., Waterloo; Erin Rankin, Soph., Waterloo; Faith Trelka, Fr., Waterloo; Elizabeth Perry, Soph., Dubuque Wahlert.

Second team – Kat Widmer, Sr., Linn-Mar; Maddi Fisher, Soph., Linn-Mar; Hallie Peak, Fr., Linn-Mar; Emma Casebolt, Fr., Linn-Mar; Avery Campbell, Soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Maggie Conrad, Fr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Peyton Sadilek, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Lexi Imbouathong, Soph., Waterloo; Mackenzie McCoy, Jr., Waterloo; Mallory Smith, Sr., Waterloo; Emma Wachter, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Jenna Griffith, Soph., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Holly Paulsen, Sr., West High

Honorable Mention (area athletes only) – Carlin Morsch, Sr., West High; Kennedy Hochstedler, Jr., West High

All-academic (area athletes only) – Laura Machlab, Sr., West High; Holly Paulsen, Sr., West High

Valley Division

Athlete of the year – Tia Marin, Jr., Dubuque Senior

Keeper of the year – Naomi Meurice, Jr., City High

Coach of the year – Tom Corcoran, Dubuque Senior

First team – Olivia Hellweg, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Hannan Mundell, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Kenadee Dekko, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Madelynn Fontana, Jr., City High; Naomi Meurice, Jr., City High; Skyla Atkins, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Hannah Sacora, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Meg Kuntz, Sr., Cedar Falls; Taya Love, Sr., Cedar Falls; Tia Martin, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Ava Frye, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Anna Paca, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Nyah Engstrom, Soph., Cedar Rapids Prairie

Second team – Delaney Holtey, Fr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Emily Waterhouse, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Riley Hull, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Callie Menzel, Fr., City High; Sydney DePrenger, Sr., City High; Julie Holt, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Sarah Altemeier, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Madison Bower, Sr., Cedar Falls; Julie Hetherton, Sr., Cedar Falls; Karissa DeMoss, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Elise Kamm, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Erin Rieckens, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Sydney Hancox, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie.

Honorable Mention (area athletes only) – Sam Schroder, Jr., City High; Ella Hennager, Jr., City High

All-academic (area athletes only) – Sydney DePrenger, Sr., City High; Ashleigh Seydel, Sr., City High