Wick, Pechous Earn All-State Honors for State Champion Regals


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

Regina picked up its team hardware early this month at the state tournament claiming its second consecutive Class 1A crown.

The individual awards continue to roll in for the Regals.

Freshman Alec Wick and senior Nick Pechous both earned all-state honors when the Iowa High School Soccer Coaches Association released its postseason awards on Wednesday.

Pechous and Wick were the top two scorers for a Regina team that finished 18-3 and defeated Des Moines Christian in the 1A title match.

Wick was named to the Class 1A first team after an impressive debut season in which he scored 15 goals, four of which came at the state tournament.

The captain of the 1A all-tournament team for the second consecutive season, Pechous was an honorable mention selection in Class 1A.

Pechous led Regina with 16 goals and eight assists on the season and scored four goals during Regina’s postseason run.

Solon had a trio of players earn all-state honors as senior Nick Radcliffe and juniors Jorel Justus and Luke Yetley were all first-team picks in Class 1A.

Justus ranked fifth in Class 1A this season with 23 goals and led Solon with 12 assists while Radcliffe had four goals and two assists from his position in the Solon back line.

Yetley ranked second on the team with 13 goals and added 10 assists.

West High and City High each had a pair of players named to the Class 3A all-state teams after returning to the state tournament.

Junior forward Gada Ambo and senior defender Harry Zielinski were both first-team selections for West High.

Ambo ranked seventh in Class 3A with 19 goals and had a team-high seven assists to help West High place fourth at the state tournament.

Zielinski had two goals and three assists as an anchor on a West High defense that helped the Trojans to a 18-5 record.

City High senior Jackson Meyer was named to the 3A first-team while teammate John Clark was an honorable mention pick.

A Drake recruit, Meyer was widely considered one of the top center backs in the state as a senior.

Meyer had two goals and helped City High post shutouts in eight of its final 10 matches while reaching the 3A quarterfinals.

Clark had a team-high 18 goals and added two assists and was a first-team Mississippi Valley Conference all-division pick.

Liberty High had a pair of all-state honorees follow its first season of varsity action.

Freshman Kolby Godbolt and sophomore Ayi Ajavon were both honorable mention selections in Class 2A after helping the Lightning to a 10-7 record in their debut season.

Ajavon scored a team-high 19 goals and added 13 assists while Godbolt had nine goals and two assists in an injury-shortened season.

Iowa High School Soccer Coaches Association Boys All-State Teams

Class 3A

First Team – Jordy Triana Vasquez, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Cody Christoffersen, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Kolby Raineri, Jr., Ankeny; Will Overberg, Jr., Ankeny Centennial; Justin Crawner, Jr., Waukee; Wesley Sanders, Jr., Waukee; Gada Ambo, Jr., West High; Keaton Woods, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Mateaus Lewis, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Boston Riley, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Jack Nurre, Sr., Ankeny; Jackson Meyer, Sr., City High; Harry Zielinski, Sr., West High; Lucas Gutierrez, Jr., Waukee.

Second Team – Danny Peak, Sr., Linn-Mar; Alex Stone, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Domnick Miyeng, Jr., Des Moines Lincoln; Trever Jones, Jr., Waukee; Chase Harrison, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Andrew Hammer, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Dustin Harris, Sr., Bettendorf; Connor Russo, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Fernando Rocha, Sr., Des Moines Lincoln; Ethan Curry, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Roderick Orellana-Lemus, Jr., Des Moines Lincoln; Nick Schnack, Sr., Des Moines Roosevelt; Alan Imamovic, Jr., Urbandale.

Honorable Mention – Michael Brandt, Jr., Ankeny Centennial; Baraka Ellie, Sr., Des Moines Roosevelt; Christian Tavera, Sr., Des Moines Roosevelt; Lal Ro Puia, Soph., Des Moines Hoover; Preston Peddicord, Sr., Johnston; Conner James, Sr., Council Bluffs Lewis Central; Caleb Halleran, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Cole Jensen, Jr., Council Bluffs Lewis Central; Kevin Qi, Soph., West Des Moines Valley; Javier Huerta, Sr., Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln; Edwin Garcia, Sr., Des Moines Roosevelt; Ben Frazee, Sr., Ames; Eddie Carrillo, Sr., Des Moines East; Hunter Hendrix, Jr., Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln; Jack Malone, Jr., Des Moines Roosevelt; Charlie Pritchard, Jr., Ankeny; Brennan Lemke, Sr., Clinton; John Clark, Sr., City High; Jaeger Erickson, Sr., Southeast Polk; Ronald Anthony, Soph., West Des Moines Valley; Luke Whitman, Sr., Des Moines Roosevelt; Antonio Melendez, Sr., Muscatine; Anthony Pena, Sr., Pleasant Valley

Class 2A

First Team – Ethan Poulter, Sr., Pella; Tucker Kiley, Jr., Dallas Center-Grimes; Mason Lucas, Soph., Norwalk; Thomas Bean, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Eli Schwarzkopf, Sr., ADM; Kevin Duque, Sr., Storm Lake; Garrett Nevshemal, Jr., Winterset; Brennon Woody, Jr., Dallas Center-Grimes; Matthew Yeager, Sr., Newton; Jaffer Murphy, Soph., Marion; Gerardo Rosiles, Sr., Storm Lake; Joe Bacon, Sr., Pella; Ean Followill, Sr., Dallas Center-Grimes; Ethan Meyer, Jr., ADM; Hunter Ohannessian, Sr., Knoxville; Alex Whalen, Sr., Marion; Lucas Warner, Sr., Pella

Honorable Mention – Blaine Coleman, Sr., Ballard; Jake Muhlbauer, Sr., Decorah; Drew Voge, Sr., Harlan; Kolby Godbolt, Fr., Liberty High; Logan Strawser, Sr., Grinnell; Keaton Jones, Sr., Harlan; Andrew Kozelka, Sr., Decorah; Tristin Gilles, Sr., Hudson; Ayi Ajavon, Soph., Liberty High; Nick Baur, Sr., Winterset; Will Hanigan, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Dalton Pauley, Sr., Newton.

Class 1A

First Team – Vance Bartelt, Sr., Benton Community; Alec Wick, Fr., Regina; Luke Yetley, Jr., Solon; Trent Fitzpatrick, Sr., Davenport Assumption; Blake Witty, Sr., Des Moines Christian; Cole Ours, Sr., Iowa Mennonite; Matthew Cronquist, Soph., Williamsburg; Bo McMahan, Sr., Denver; Christian Graber, Gilbert; Ben Webster, Sr., Des Moines Christian; Jorel Justus, Jr., Solon; Nick Radcliff, Sr., Solon; Reggie Borntrager, Sr., Iowa Mennonite; Carter Bremer, Sr., Nevada; Carlos Cruz, Jr., Postville; Luke Water, Sr., Council Bluffs St. Albert

Honorable Mention – Broc Hawkins, Sr., North Polk; Abdikadar Mohamed, Sr., Postville; Leo Marques, Sr., Greene County; Nick Pechous, Sr., Regina; Kobi Baccam, Soph., Western Christian