Solon Has 10 Players Earn All-WAMAC Honors, Clear Creek Amana Puts 6 on West Division Teams


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

Solon secured a second trip to the state tournament in the past three seasons on Wednesday night.

The good news kept coming for the Spartans on Thursday morning.

Solon had 10 players earn all-division honors including four first-team selections when the WAMAC Conference released its postseason baseball awards.

The 10 honorees were the most for any WAMAC team and included a pair of unanimous East Division first-team honorees in senior shortstop Luke Ira and senior centerfield Kendrick Harris.

Clear Creek Amana had six players earn West Division honors led by senior first-team selections Cody Ogden and Camden Armstrong

Harris and Ira highlight all-division honors for Solon after helping the Spartans finish a half game back of Western Dubuque in the conference standings with an over 23-5 mark.

Ira was a unanimous first-team East Division pick as an infielder after slugging a state-best 19 home runs and driving in 58 runs while also posting a 6-1 record and 1.73 ERA in 52 2/3 innings.

The senior shortstop leads Solon in batting average (.455), runs (64), hits (65), slugging percentage (.979) and stolen bases (17).

Harris was a unanimous pick as an outfield following a senior campaign in which he hit .376 with five home runs and 23 RBI.

The centerfielder ranks second on the team behind Ira with 53 runs, 47 hits and 14 stolen bases and leads Solon with four triples.

Senior outfield Spencer Wegmann and Cam Miller both joined Ira and Harris on the East Division first team.

A first-team pick as an outfielder, Wegmann hit .298 with three home runs, 28 runs scored and 33 RBI.

Miller was a first-team utility pick after hitting .325 with a home run and 25 RBI and going 9-3 record with a 1.07 ERA and 78 strikeouts in a team-high 58 2/3 innings.

Seniors Payton Bandy, Tyler Linderbaum and Zach Wegman and junior catcher Adam Bock were all second-team selections.

Linderbaum and Zach Wegmann were both utility picks while Bandy was a second-team infielder and Bock was selected as the second team catcher.

An Iowa football recruit, Linderbaum hit .295 with 35 RBI and a team-high 30 walks and also went 5-0 with a 1.13 ERA and three saves in 31 innings.

Bandy hit .300 with two home runs and 34 RBI and Bock hit .319 and was second on the team with 40 RBI.

Zach Wegmann had a team-high 15 doubles and five home runs while hitting .348 and ranked third on the team with 38 RBI.

Sophomore pitcher Lucas Walker (6-1, 1.23 ERA) and junior pitcher Ryan Geistkemper (4-4, 2.44 ERA) were both honorable mention selections.

Armstrong and Ogden highlighted the postseason honors for Clear Creek Amana.

Ogden was a unanimous first-team pick as an infielder after leading Clear Creek Amana in batting average (.368), runs (37), hits (46), home runs (3), RBI (25) and slugging percentage (.520).

Armstrong was a first-team utility selection following a senior season in which he went 7-3 with a 1.95 ERA in 68 1/3 innings and also hit .264 with a home run and 23 RBI.

Senior David Jensen and junior Camden Smyka were both second team picks while Sophomore Casey Ogden and eighth-grader Sam Young were honorable mention selections.

A utility pick, Jensen hit .286 with 31 runs and 16 RBI and also went 3-3 with a 3.84 ERA in 31 innings.

Smyka was a second-team infield selection after hitting .330 with 23 RBI for the Clippers.

WAMAC All-Conference Baseball  

East Division

First team – P: *Sam Goodman, Jr., Western Dubuque; Lucas Bixby, Jr., Central DeWitt. C: *Calvin Harris, Soph., Western Dubuque. INF: *Luke Ira, Sr., Solon; Jackson Bennett, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; *Jarod Harris, Sr., West Delaware; Devon Hurdle, Jr., Central DeWitt. OF: *Kendrick Harris, Sr., Solon; *Kyle Lehmann, Jr., Western Dubuque; Spencer Wegmann, Sr., Solon. UTIL: *Joel Vaske, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; *Nick Casey, Jr., West Delaware; Cam Miller, Soph., Solon.

Second team – P: Zach Bierman, Jr., Western Dubuque; Connor McDermott, Sr., Dyersville Beckman. C: Adam Bock, Jr., Solon. INF: Cam Steffens, Sr., Central DeWitt; Tyler Elliott, Jr., Mount Vernon; Payton Bandy, Sr., Solon; Sawyer Nauman, Fr., Western Dubuque. OF: Luke Anderson, Soph., Central DeWitt; Owen Grover, Jr., Dyersville Beckman; Trevor O’Reilly, Sr., West Delaware. UTIL: Tyler Linderbaum, Sr., Solon; Zach Wegmann, Sr., Solon; Garrett Finley, Jr., Central DeWitt.

Honorable Mention – Lucas Walker, Soph., Solon; Ryan Geistkemper, Jr., Solon; Brock Marbach, Jr., Dyersville Beckman, Nate Funke, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Dunston Werner, Sr., West Delaware; Ben Ridenour, Jr., West Delaware; Jake Swanson, Jr., Central DeWitt; Alex McAleer, Soph., Central DeWitt; Kane Kopp, Jr., Maquoketa; Kannon Coakley, Fr., Maquoketa; Ryan Gasper, Sr., Western Dubuque; Damon Jaeger, Jr., Western Dubuque; Tyson Dew, Sr., Mount Vernon; Matt Martin, Jr., Mount Vernon.

Coach of the year – Casey Bryant, Western Dubuque

West Division

First team – P: *Rick Atkins, Jr., Marion; Carter Kreigel, Jr., South Tama. C: *Chase Zielke, Sr., Marion. INF: *Cody Ogden, Sr., Clear Creek Amana; *Lane Koch, Sr., South Tama; *Logan Schmitt, Soph., Independence; *Spencer Touro, Sr., Benton Community. OF: Colton Vest, Sr., South Tama; *Blake Bohnsack, Sr., Vinton-Shellsburg; *Derek Weber, Sr., Independence. UTIL: *Cade Timmerman, Fr., Benton Community; Austin Prier, Jr., Marion; Camden Armstrong, Sr., Clear Creek Amana

Second team – P: Scott Betterton, Jr., Vinton-Shellsburg; Camden Smyka, Jr., Clear Creek Amana. C: Cael Kellogg, Jr., South Tama. INF: Axl Hoepner, Jr., Vinton-Shellsburg; Mitchell McCauley, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Tom Reiff, Sr., Independence; Nick Cole, Jr., Marion. OF: Jon Karteus, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Kenyon Hosch, Sr., Independence; Cam Klostermann, Jr., Center Point-Urbana. UTIL: Maverick Gatrost, Jr., Center Point-Urbana; David Jensen, Sr., Clear Creek Amana; Josh Holub, Sr., Williamsburg.

Honorable mention – Turner Schoeder, Soph., Benton Community; Luke Wiebel, Sr., Benton Community; Dylan Harris, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Max Chesmore, Jr., Center Point-Urbana; Dane Carstensen, Soph., Marion; Trevor Paulsen, Jr., Marion; Casey Ogden, Soph., Clear Creek Amana; Sam Young, 8th, Clear Creek Amana; Zach Zieser, Sr., Independence; Cyrus Butters, Sr., Independence; Cole Overton, Sr., Vinton-Shellsburg; Payton Haefner, Soph., Vinton-Shellsburg; Jackson Beltz, Jr., South Tama; Mattie Wiese, Fr., South Tama; Garrett Jensen, Jr., Williamsburg; Zach Doehrmann, Sr., Williamsburg

Coach of the year – Steve Fish, Marion