Seniors Houston, Karwal and Reyhons Headline Area MVC All-Division Picks


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

The prep careers for Lucas Karwal, Braden Houston and Travis Reyhons came to a close on Wednesday night with substate final losses.

On Thursday those three area seniors were honored for the impressive senior seasons that capped their careers.

Karwal, Houston and Reyhons all earned first-team status when the Mississippi Valley Conference released its postseason honors.

Houston and Karwal were each unanimous first-team picks in the Mississippi Division after helping West High to tenth consecutive 30-win season.

City High’s Reyhons was a first-team selection in the Valley Division following a senior season in which he set school records for triples and stolen bases.

A unanimous first-team pick as a pitcher last season, Houston was named to the Mississippi Division first-team infield as a senior.

Houston hit .390 and led West High with 33 runs, 28 walks, a .551 on-base percentage and 20 stolen bases.

The senior shortstop tied for the team lead with 10 doubles and drove in 25 runs and also went 6-3 with a 2.75 ERA in 51 innings.

Karwal closed his career with his best season, hitting a team-high .412 with four home runs and a team-leading 32 RBI on his way to earning first-team honors as a catcher.

The senior backstop had 10 doubles and four triples while leading West High with 54 hits.

West High juniors Ryan Cooper and Jason Strunk were both named to the Mississippi Division second team while senior Tyler Stern and junior Nick Biancuzzo were both honorable mention selections.

Strunk hit .342 with a team-high seven home runs and 31 RBI and Cooper hit .379 with three home runs and 25 RBI.

Reyhons headlined the list of City High honorees after earning a spot on the Valley Division first-team infield.

The senior shortstop and second baseman led the Little Hawks in batting average (.423), runs (45), hits (58), triples (6) and stolen bases (29).

Reyhons also had 12 doubles and two home runs and drove in 28 runs from his leadoff spot in the City High lineup.

His six triples matched the City High single season record and gave him the career triples record while his 29 stolen bases are a new single season record.

Junior outfield DJ Heck and senior Jacob Dykes were both named to the Valley Division second team.

Senior Quenton Max and junior pitcher Ry Threlkeld-Wiegand were honorable mention picks.

Heck hit .346 with 40 runs, two home runs and 21 stolen bases and Dykes hit .347 with 26 RBI and also went 1-1 with three saves and a 4.42 ERA in 25 1/3 innings.

Mississippi Valley Conference All-Division Baseball

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the year – Gabe Lux, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier

Coach of the year – Dan Halter, Cedar Rapids Xavier

First team – P: *Chase Keeney, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Aaron Bartels, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier. C: *Lucas Karwal, Sr., West High. 1B: *Spencer Goerdt, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert. INF: *Braden Houston, Sr., West High; *Gabe Lux, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; *Brayden Frazier, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson. OF: *Coy Sarsfield, Fr., Linn-Mar; Noah Susong, Jr., Waterloo West; Nate Annis, Sr., Linn-Mar. UTIL: *Jimmy McDermott, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; T.J. Kuennen, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

Second team – P: Jared Walter, Fr., Dubuque Wahlert; Reed Zahradnik, Sr., Linn-Mar. C: Garrett Ries, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier. 1B: Ryan Cooper, Jr., West High. INF: Josh Hilsenbeck, Sr., Linn-Mar; Kyle Moeder, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Willie Guy, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson. OF: Jason Strunk, Jr., West High; Drake Frazier, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Patrick McGinn, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier. UTIL: Will Angstman, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Owen Funke, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert.

Honorable mention – Jon Cross, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Logan Pady, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Ben Kisting, Soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Quinn Schulte, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Matt Schmitz, Soph., Dubuque Wahlert; Jack Jaeger, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Tyler Stern, Sr., West High; Nick Biancuzzo, Jr., West High; Cole Wright, St., Linn-Mar; Aaron Nibaur, Sr., Linn-Mar; Cameron Berinobis, Sr., Waterloo East; Jaxson Bentley, Fr., Waterloo East; Carter Meyerhoff, Sr., Waterloo West; Carter Schulte, Fr., Waterloo West.

All-academic (Area athletes only) – Alex Schwickerath, Sr., West High; Carter Johnson, Sr., West High.

Valley Division

Athlete of the year – Levi Usher, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

Coach of the year – Todd Rime, Cedar Rapids Prairie

First team – P: *Jacob Bockenstedt, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; *Connor Crabill, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead. C: Casey Sole, Jr., Cedar Falls. 1B: *Mason Hook, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie. INF: *Griff Clark, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; *Sam Link, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Travis Reyhons, Sr., City High. OF: *Levi Usher, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; *Lincoln Riley, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; *Wil Courtney, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead. UTIL: *Harrison Cook, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Graham Woods, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

Second team – P: Blake Wheeler, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Caleb Fuller, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie. C: Joe McKinstry, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington. 1B: Jacob Dykes, Sr., City High. INF: Carter Stevens, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Drew Christensen, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Mitch Young, Jr., Cedar Falls. OF: Ryan Kilpatrick, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Jaylynn Smith, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; DJ Heck, Jr., City High. UTIL: Max Muehring, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Tanner Schiefelbein, Jr., Cedar Falls.

Honorable mention – Tate Johnson, Jr., Cedar Falls; Jacob Renda, Sr., Cedar Falls; Lane Thole, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Nolan Behn, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Sam Lockhart, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Casey Day, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Nick Nading, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Nolan Cavanaugh, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Lucas Duax, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Evan Hingtgen, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Tommy Casey, Soph., Dubuque Senior; Andrue Henry, Soph., Dubuque Senior; Quenton Max, Sr., City High, Ry Threlkeld-Wiegand, Jr., City High.

All-academic (Area athletes only) – Quenton Max, Sr., City High; Cole Milder, Sr., City High