West High's Fay Headlines Area MVC Volleyball All-Division Picks


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

Rylee Fay followed in the footsteps of her older sister last season when she took over as the starting setter at West High.   

On Wednesday Fay followed her sister again becoming the second setter in the family to earn Mississippi Valley Conference all-division honors when the conference announced its postseason honors.

Fay was named to the MVC Valley Division first team after a junior season in which she led West High in assists, ace serves and blocks.

The first team honors for Fay come two years after older sister and current South Dakota State setter Maddie Fay earned second-team all-MVC honors in 2016.

Fay had a team-high 591 kills to surpass the 1,000-kill mark for her career.

The 5-foot-9 junior also led the Women of Troy with 68 ace serves and 58 blocks and ranked third on the team with 131 kills and 245 digs.

Fay highlighted a group of four area players to earn first or second team all-division honors.

Liberty High junior LeeAnn Potter was a second-team selection in the Valley Division while City High seniors Ellie Evans and Mackenzie Murphy were both named to the Mississippi Division second team.

Evans led City High in kills with 281 and digs with 339 while helping the Little Hawks reach the Class 5A regional finals for the fourth time in six seasons.

The 5-foot-11 Evans ranked second on the team with 31 blocks and was third with 35 ace serves.

Murphy led City High with 52 blocks and 57 ace serves and was second on the with 247 kills to help the Little Hawks to a 24-13 record.

City High juniors Kelsey Law and Mia Loughran were both honorable mention selections in the Mississippi Division.

Potter was a second-team selection in the Valley Division after leading Liberty High with 326 kills and 40 ace serves in its debut season in the Mississippi Valley Conference.

The 5-foot-9 Potter also led the Lightning with 296 digs and had 16 blocks.

Sophomores Olivia Slattery and Hailey Hested were both honorable mention picks for Liberty High.

West High seniors Cailyn Morgan and Claire Overton each earned honorable mention status in the Valley Division.

Cedar Falls junior Akacia Brown was the Mississippi Division athlete of the year while Linn-Mar senior Megan Renner earned athlete of the year honors in the Valley Division.

Mississippi Valley Conference Volleyball All-Division Teams

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the year – Akacia Brown, Jr. Cedar Falls

Coach of the year – Matt Johnson, Cedar Falls

First team – *Akacia Brown, Jr. Cedar Falls; *Alayna Yates, Jr., Cedar Falls; *Akeela Jefferson, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Emerson Green, Jr., Cedar Falls; Eve Magill, Soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Emma Baumhover, Sr., Western Dubuque; Rachael Kilpatrick, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Dara Hulstein, Sr., Cedar Falls; Jazmine Yamilkoski, Soph., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

Second team – Keera Ball, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; McKenzie Simon, Sr., Western Dubuque; Ellie Evans, Sr., City High; Kobie Dills, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Emily Clapp, Sr., Cedar Falls; Kirsten Graves, Jr., Cedar Falls; Karlie Fagan, Sr., Western Dubuque; Mackenzie Murphy, Sr., City High; Kylee Oldenburger, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

Honorable mention – Ashley Schildroth, Sr., Cedar Falls; Emily Hayes, Sr., Cedar Falls; Kobie Blaha, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Alexis Moss, Fr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Madison Miller, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Julie Holt, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Olivia Richards, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Emily Jasper, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Emma Link, Soph., Dubuque Senior; Sarah Peters, Soph., Dubuque Senior; Kelsey Law, Jr., City High; Mia Loughran, Jr., City High; Jenna Burds, Sr., Western Dubuque; Sydney Rosalez, Sr., Western Dubuque; Jenna O’Donnell, Jr., Waterloo East; Carley Spooner, Jr., Waterloo East.

All-academic (area athletes only) – Eryn Dailey, Sr., City High; Kaylee Paulsen, Sr., City High

Valley Division

Athlete of the year – Megan Renner, Sr., Linn-Mar

Coach of the year – Will and Amy North

First team – *Megan Renner, Sr., Linn-Mar; *Maddy Baxter, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; *Jada Wills, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Kaylee Donner, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Sydney Kloubec, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Anna Gorsich, Sr., Linn-Mar; Aliyah Carter, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Rylee Fay, Jr., West High; Kaylissa Arndorfer, Sr., Waterloo West

Second team – Maggie Peters, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Peyton Brokovich, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Corinne Meier, Soph., Dubuque Hempstead; Lindsey Culver, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Allison Pisarcik, Sr., Linn-Mar; Emily Strauss, Jr., Linn-Mar; Carolyn Conlon, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Abby Feldmann, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy, LeeAnn Potter, Jr., Liberty High.

Honorable mention – Cassidy Boche, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Meghan Prohaska, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Elyse Winter, Soph., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Katie Jensen, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Ella Pettinger, Soph., Dubuque Hempstead; Lily Reeg, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Lauryn Montgomery, Soph., Dubuque Wahlert; Grace Lueken, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Olivia Slattery, Soph., Liberty High; Hailey Hested, Soph., Liberty High; Cailyn Morgan, Sr., West High; Claire Overton, Sr., West High; Ellie Von Lehmden, Sr., Linn-Mar; Tori Niemeyer, Sr., Linn-Mar; Lauren Conrey, Jr., Waterloo West; Christina Campbell, Sr., Waterloo West

All-academic (area athletes only) – Kaylee Berns, Jr., Liberty High; Piper Koski, Jr., Liberty High; Courtney Olson, Jr., Liberty High; Sushma Santhana, Jr., Liberty High; Grace Fleckenstein, Sr., West High; Natalie Young, Jr., West High

*-Unanimous selection

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.