Dall Earns 100th Career Win as Solon Rolls at Home Triangular


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Ryan Murken

Your Prep Sports

SOLON – At the beginning of the season a December home triangular didn’t stick out much on the Solon wrestling schedule to senior Aidan Dall.

It turns out Thursday’s home triangular will be one that Dall never forgets.

Dall posted a pair of pins on Thursday earning the 100th victory of his career as Class 2A sixth-ranked Solon defeated Maquoketa and Central DeWitt in a WAMAC East Division triangular.

With his two wins on Thursday Dall improved to 10-6 on the season and joined his older brother Graeson in the 100-win club at Solon.

“It wasn’t a meet I was looking at a long time ahead but it’s just great to get the 100th win,” Dall said. “My brother got 100 wins so it’s good to be a part of it. It’s exciting.”

The memorable night for Dall was part of a dominating evening for the Spartans.

Solon won 11 matches in a 61-12 win over Maquoketa in its opener and capped the triangular by winning 10 matches in a 57-21 win over Central DeWitt.

The Spartans had 13 pins and won four other matches via forfeit collecting bonus points in all but three wins.

Since dropping a WAMAC dual to fourth-ranked West Delaware last Thursday Solon has won seven consecutive duals, five coming on Saturday at the South Tama Dual Tournament.

“We’ve had a brutal couple of weeks in the schedule and I think the guys were just excited to be at home,” Solon coach Blake Williams said. “It was a great crowd so it was great to see them get up for a couple of matches at home. Hopefully that carries over into the weekend.”

Thanks to an update from the Solon managers Dall knew he entered Thursday night two wins shy of triple digits for his career.

He wasted little time reaching 100.

Dall needed just 16 seconds to pin Dane Durkop of Maquoketa in the opener.

“The managers told me I was two wins away so I knew but I was just trying to work my shots and do everything I could,” Dall said.

Dall dispatched of Carter Donovan of Central DeWitt in just 1:04 for win number 100.

“He’s a four-year varsity wrestler and he’s done whatever we ask,” Williams said of Dall. “A couple of years he’s had to cut quite a bit of weight and this year he is not cutting as much and he is really enjoying it. He’s kind of an example of what the program is all about.”

Solon actually trailed Maquoketa 12-6 four matches into the dual that started at 285 pounds but won the final 10 matches, six by pin.

The match of the dual came at 170 pounds where tenth-ranked Jax Flynn earned a 4-0 win over fifth-ranked Abraham Michel.

“I was looking forward to it,” Flynn said. “The new rankings came out and I saw he was fifth and I was 10th and I was hungry for it.”

It was the first meeting between the two since Michel pinned Flynn in the first period two seasons ago.

Flynn improved to 13-3 on the season with the win and a first-period fall of Central DeWitt’s Andrew Ransford in the nightcap.

“Jax has beaten a bunch of tough kids early in the season and I think his confidence level has skyrocketed in the last couple of weeks,” Williams said. “Going into the season I think he thought he could do it and now he knows he can be there with the best of those guys. Hopefully he just stays on a roll.”  

Solon 61, Maquoketa 12

106 – Double forfeit

113 – Jakobe Lahr (SOL) won by forfeit

120 – Hunter Connolly (MAQ) pinned Lucas Kampman 1:07

126 – Hayden Taylor (SOL) pinned Ivan martin 2:28

132 – Zeb Gnida (SOL) won by forfeit

138 – Aidan Dall (SOL) pinned Dane Durkop :16

145 – Colton Spillman (SOL) pinned Mason Springer 2:32

152 – Zack Bevans (SOL) pinned Jaycob Thompson 3:03

160 – Andy Brokaw (SOL) pinned Maxachille Kuan 2:47

170 – Jax Flynn (SOL) dec. Abraham Michel 4-0

182 – Seamus Poynton (SOL) major dec. Liam Aunan 8-0

195 – Adam Bock (SOL) dec. Lane Stender 7-3

220 – Mike Hoyle (SOL) pinned Roy Gerlach 1:56

285 – Taven Rich (MAQ) pinned Michael Broghammer 1:44

Solon 57, Central DeWitt 21

106 – Keaton Simmons (CD) won by forfeit

113 – Keaton Zeimet (CD) pinned Jakobe Lahr :44

120 – Robert Howard (CD) pinned Lucas Kampman 1:28

126 – Hayden Taylor (SOL) won by forfeit

132 – Zeb Gnida (SOL) pinned Jeff Fuller 3:33

138 – Aidan Dall (SOL) pinned Carter Donovan 1:04

145 – Caleb Ebert (SOL) pinned Ethan McCaulley 4:59

152 – Zack Bevans (SOL) pinned Mason Manning 1:29

160 – Andy Brokaw (SOL) pinned Theodore Fox 5:56

170 – Jax Flynn (SOL) pinned Andrew Ransford :27

182 – Seamus Poynton (SOL) dec. Logan Pitts 6-2

195 – Mitchell Michoski (CD) dec. Adam Bock 3-2

220 – Mike Hoyle (SOL) pinned Cameron Lee 1:33

285 – Michael Broghammer (SOL) won by forfeit