Joens, Zacharias Named MVC Athletes of the Year


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Ryan Murken

Your Prep Sports

Lauren Zacharias and Aubrey Joens each led their teams to Mississippi Valley Conference divisional titles this season.

On Wednesday both were rewarded with the conference’s highest individual award.

Zacharias and Joens were each named MVC divisional athletes on the year on Wednesday when the conference announced its postseason awards.

Joens led the MVC in scoring and ranked third in the state averaging 23.1 points per game while helping City High to the Mississippi Division title.

The 5-foot-9 junior guard led City High in rebounding with 7.4 boards per game, was second on the team in steals with 3 per game and shot 47 percent from 3-point range while connecting on 65 3-pointers.

Zacharias was named the Valley Division player of the year after a senior season in which she averaged 14 points, 6.1 rebounds, 5.9 assists and 3 steals per game.

The 5-foot-5 point guard shot 48 percent from the floor and 39 percent from 3-point range while helping City High to a 12-2 MVC mark.

Joining Joens on the Mississippi Division first team was junior Rose Nkumu who was a unanimous first-team pick after averaging 18.7 points, 5.4 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 3.6 steals per game.

The 5-foot-8 Nkumu shot 51 percent from the field and 74 percent from the free throw line.

City High junior Paige Rocca was a second-team selection for City High while sophomore Ella Cook and freshman Eviyon Richardson were both honorable mention picks for the Little Hawks.

Sophomore Audrey Koch and senior Morgan both joined Zacharias on the Valley Division first team.

Koch, a 5-foot-11 forward, led West High in scoring with 16.3 points per game and rebounding with 7 per game in her first season as a starter.

Morgan averaged 13.1 points, 5.2 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game for the Women of Troy.

Sophomore Matayia Tellis was named to the Valley Division second team while freshman Emma Ingersoll-Weng and senior Sydney Allen were both honorable mention picks for West High.

West High coach BJ Mayer was named Valley Division coach of the year after directing the Women of Troy to the divisional title.

Liberty High had its first every first-team all-division selection in junior Cora Saunders.

Saunders led Liberty High in scoring with 12.5 points per game and was a 44 percent 3-point shooter.

Juniors Sam McPherson and Isabel Smith were both honorable mention selections for the Lightning.

Mississippi Valley Conference All-Division teams

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the Year – Aubrey Joens, Jr., City High

Coach of the Year – Gregg Groen, Cedar Falls

First Team – *Emerson Green, Jr., Cedar Falls; *Rose Nkumu, Jr., City High; *Sidney McCrea, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; *Hannah Stuelke, Fr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Anaya Barney, Soph., Cedar Falls; Aubrey Joens, Jr., City High; Sarah Schmitt, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Caitlynn Daniels, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier

Second Team – Mallory McDermott, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Paige Rocca, Jr., City High; Emily Jasper, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Alli Udelhofen, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Caitlin Riley, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Sammy Mia, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Lindsey Eimers, Jr., Western Dubuque; Kerris Roberts, Sr., Waterloo East

Honorable Mention – McKenna Gleason, Sr., Cedar Falls; Lexie Godfrey, Jr., Cedar Falls; Isa Truemper, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Sydney Mitvalsky, Soph., Cedar Rapids Washington; Quinn Deahl, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Rachael Kilpatrick, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Aubrey Jones, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Libby Arnold, Fr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Ella Noel, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Rebecca Alvarenga, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Ella Cook, Soph., City High; Eviyon Richardson, Fr., City High; Amanee Clark, Sr., Waterloo East; Ellasa Horton, Fr., Waterloo East; Karlie Fagan, Sr., Western Dubuque; Emma Baumhover, Sr., Western Dubuque

All-academic (Area athletes only) – Emily Knoche, Sr., City High; Virginia Muturi, Sr., City High

Valley Division

Athlete of the Year – Lauren Zacharias, Sr., West High  

Coach of the Year – B.J. Mayer, West High

First Team – *Lauren Zacharias, Sr., West High; *Audrey Koch, Soph., West High; *NaTracia Ceaser, Sr., Waterloo West; *Macey Miller, Sr., Linn-Mar; *Sadie Powell, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; *Madison Fleckenstein, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Cailyn Morgan, Sr., West High; Cora Saunders, Jr., Liberty High 

Second Team – Lauren Conrey, Jr., Waterloo West; Keegan Krejca, Soph., Linn-Mar; Auddie Alepra, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Matayia Tellis, Soph., West High; Kaylie Springer, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Allie Kutsch, Soph., Dubuque Wahlert; Jada Draine, Sr., Waterloo West; Alexis Beier, Fr., Linn-Mar; Jenna Griffith, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

Honorable Mention – Grace Jellison, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Kalyn Wise, Soph., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Madison Friauf, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Camryn Ray, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Riley Kay, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Riley Bleymeyer, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Morgan Herrig, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Maria Klein, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Sam McPherson, Jr., Liberty High; Isabel Smith, Jr., Liberty High; Sydney Allen, Sr., West High; Emma Ingersoll-Weng, Fr., West High; Carly Printy, Jr., Linn-Mar; Hallie Peak, Soph., Linn-Mar; Gabby Moore, Soph., Waterloo West; Brooklynn Smith, Fr., Waterloo West

All-academic (Area athletes only) – Emma Koch, Sr., West High, Sydney Allen, Sr., West High; Cecily Johnston, Jr., Liberty High; Kayli Baldwin, Jr., Liberty High; Megan Davis, Jr., Liberty High

*-Unanimous Selection

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.