West High's McCaffery Named MVC Valley Division Player of the Year


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Ryan Murken

Your Prep Sports

Patrick McCaffery has already led West High to a Mississippi Valley Conference title and a spot in the state tournament and next week he will attempt to lead the Trojans to their eighth state title.

On Wednesday McCaffery was honored for his work in the regular season when he was selected MVC Valley Division athlete of the year when the conference announced its postseason awards.

The 6-foot-8 McCaffery led all MVC players and ranked third in Class 4A in scoring with 25.6 points per game while shooting 59 percent from the field and 44 percent from 3-point range.

McCaffery led West High (17-4) with 7.6 rebounds and also averaged 2.6 assists per game.

West High junior Even Brauns and Liberty High junior Andre Brandon each joined McCaffery on the Valley Division first team in their first season in the conference.

The 6-foot-9 Brauns averaged 11.1 points, 5.6 rebounds and a team-high 1.4 blocked shots per game in his first season at West High.

Brandon was a first-team selection after leading Liberty High with 14.4 points, 8.3 rebounds and 1.3 steals per game.

The 6-foot-5 Brandon shot 52 percent from the field and 75 percent from the free throw line.

Liberty High juniors Ethan O’Donnell and Isaac Bender were both honorable mention picks in the Valley Division along with West High sophomore Marcus Morgan and junior Nick Pepin.

City High senior point guard Antonio Turner was a second-team selection in the Mississippi Division.

Turner led City High with 11.9 points and 2 assists per game and shot a team-best 81 percent from the free throw line.

Senior Ry Threlkeld-Wiegand and sophomore Byron Benton were both honorable mention picks for the Little Hawks.

Mississippi Valley Conference All-Division Boys Basketball Teams

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the Year – Noah Carter, Sr., Dubuque Senior

Coach of the Year – Jeremy Rickertsen, Cedar Rapids Prairie

First Team – *Logan Wolf, Sr., Cedar Falls; *Keegan Murray, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; *Kris Murray, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; *Noah Carter, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Tyrese Nickelson, Sr., Waterloo East; Mick McCurry, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Jackson Frericks, Sr., Cedar Falls; Sam Link, Sr., Dubuque Senior

Second Team – Josh Ollendieck, Jr., Cedar Falls; Jack Campbell, Sr., Cedar Falls; Harrison Cook, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Jake Beckman, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Nick Timmerman, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Landon Hermsen, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Antonio Turner, Sr., City High; Ramon Harrington, Sr., Waterloo East

Honorable Mention – Chase Courbat, Soph., Cedar Falls; Mason Abbas, Sr., Cedar Falls; Logan Burg, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Gabe Burkle, Fr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Chandlir Haug, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Ross Snitker, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Davis Wagner, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Quinn Schulte, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Cooper Medinger, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Daquon Lewis, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Ry Threlkeld-Wiegand, Sr., City High; Byron Benton, Soph., City High; Trevin Labeaux, Fr., Waterloo East; Tavious Jenkins, Sr., Waterloo East; Calvin Harris, Jr., Western Dubuque; Dylan Johnson, Soph., Western Dubuque

All-academic (Area athletes only) – Carter Westlake, Sr., City High; Ry Threlkeld-Wiegand, Sr., City High

Valley Division

Athlete of the Year – Patrick McCaffery, Sr., West High

Coach of the Year – Chris Robertson, Linn-Mar

First Team – *Willie Guy, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; *Jack Wetzel, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; *Michael Duax, Soph., Dubuque Hempstead; *Patrick McCaffery, Sr., West High; Trey Hutcheson, Sr., Linn-Mar; Andre Brandon, Jr., Liberty High; Even Brauns, Jr., West High; Jacob Schockemoehl, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert

Second Team – Ozzie Meiborg, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Raejzuan Shockley, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Tyler Andrews, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Max Duax, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Cael Schmitt, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Jaren Nelson, Sr., Linn-Mar; Isaiah Johnson, Jr., Waterloo West; Caleb Haag, Jr., Waterloo West

Honorable Mention – Blaze Bouzek, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Dymonte Hawkins, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Trey Sheets, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Zach Drahos, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Joey Kaesbauer, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Reed Snitker, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Isaac Ripley, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Matthew Becker, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Ethan O’Donnell, Soph., Liberty High; Isaac Bender, Jr., Liberty High; Nick Pepin, Jr., West High; Marcus Morgan, Soph., West High; Hayden Passmore, Sr., Linn-Mar; John Steffen, Jr., Linn-Mar; DaQuavion Walker, Jr., Waterloo West; Jaden Keller, Jr., Waterloo West

All-academic (Area athletes only) – Isaac Bender, Jr., Liberty High; Sam Funke, Jr., Liberty High; Ben Houselog, Jr., Liberty High; Brayden Adcock, Sr., West High; Cole Mabry, Sr., West High

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.