City High, West High Each Put Three on MVC All-division Teams


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Ryan Murken

Your Prep Sports

City High and West High each had three first-team selections when the Mississippi Valley Conference announced its girls soccer all-division selections and postseason honors on Monday.

City High Seniors Sam Schroder and Naomi Meurice and sophomore Callie Menzel were all named to the Mississippi Division first team after helping the Little Hawks to a 9-6 record.

Schroder led City High with 13 goals and six assists while Meurice ranked among the top goalkeepers in the state, finishing with 52 saves and allowing 11 goals.

Menzel had a goal and four assists from her midfield position.

Senior Madelynn Fontana and sophomore Lizzie Peters were each named to the Mississippi Division second team while freshman Mia DePrenger and Morgan Turner were honorable mention picks.

West High put a trio of players on the Valley Division first team as seniors Rachel Olson and Marnie Vonderhaar earned first-team honors along with freshman Kenadee Showalter.

Olson tied for the team lead with eight goals and added three assists while Showalter finished her freshman season with eight goals.

Senior Avery Lawler and freshman Makenna Vonderhaar were both named to the Valley Division second team and seniors Kennedy Hochstedler and Hannah Cantrell each earned honorable mention status for West High.

Liberty High sophomore Elise Hermiston was the first all-division selection in program history, earning second-team honors in the Valley Division.

Hermiston had five goals and led the Lightning with seven assists.

Freshman keeper Sam Harvey and freshman leading goal scorer Grace Heddens earned honorable mention honors for Liberty High in its first season in the conference.

Mississippi Valley Conference Girls Soccer All-Division Teams

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the year – Caitlynn Daniels, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier

Coach of the year – Chris Higgins, Cedar Rapids Xavier

Keeper of the year – Quinn Deahl, Cedar Rapids Prairie

First team – Elli Gruhn, Sr., Cedar Falls; Angela Knies, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Sophia Meier, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Quinn Deahl, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Caitlynn Daniels, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Avery Campbell, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Brielle Bastian, Fr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Tia Martin, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Olivia Kruse, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Gracie Mena, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Samantha Schroder, Sr., City High; Callie Menzel, Soph., City High; Naomi Meurice, Sr., City High; Erin Rankin, Jr., Waterloo; Alexis Banks, Sr., Western Dubuque

Second team – Sarimah Ogbondah, Jr., Cedar Falls; Bailey Burlingham, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Mya Washburn, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Sydney Hancox, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Julie Holt, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Quinn Hanigan, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Abbi Westhoff, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Amanda Ross, Soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Kaelyn Howe, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Brooke Healey, Soph., Dubuque Senior; Madelynn Fontana, Sr., City High; Lizzie Peters, Soph., City High; Faith Trelka, Soph., Waterloo; Faith Frapfl, Fr., Western Dubuque

Honorable mention – Emma Klose, Jr., Cedar Falls; Nicole Motzko, Jr., Cedar Falls; Jenna Leggat, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Lily Powell, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Brianna Larimore, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Katherine Schmidt, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Maggie Conrad, Soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Mary Kate Moeder, Fr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Jillian Manternach, Soph., Dubuque Senior; Sidney Kramer, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Mia DePrenger, Fr., City High; Morgan Turner, Fr., City High; Mackenzie McCoy, Sr., Waterloo; Selma Begie, Soph., Waterloo; Molly McDermott, Sr., Western Dubuque; Skylar Dolphin, Jr., Western Dubuque

All-academic (area athletes only)Naomi Meurice, Sr., City High; Ella Hennager, Sr., City High

Valley Division

Athlete of the year – Abigail Santana, Jr., Linn-Mar

Coach of the year – Marco de Leon, Linn-Mar

Keeper of the year – Anna Kimball, Sr., Linn-Mar

First team – Jennifer Schmidt, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Grace Walker, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Lauryn Vaske, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Anna Paca, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Aaliyah Waggoner, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Libby Perry, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Maya Wachter, Soph., Dubuque Wahlert; Rachel Olson, Sr., West High; Marnie Vonderhaar, Sr., West High; Kenadee Showalter, Fr., West High; Abigail Santana, Sr., Linn-Mar; Hallie Peak, Soph., Linn-Mar; Emma Casebolt, Soph., Linn-Mar; Hannah Suskind, Jr., Linn-Mar

Second team – Avery Woldruff, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Kaylee Waterhouse, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Emily Waterhouse, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Erin Rieckens, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Riley Uthe, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Gabby Moran, Soph., Dubuque Wahlert; Aunna Huseman, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Elise Hermiston, Soph., Liberty High; Makenna Vonderhaar, Fr., West High; Avery Lawler, Sr., West High; Hannah Garcia, Sr., Linn-Mar; Maddi Fisher, Jr., Linn-Mar; Leaeh Ahlers, Soph., Linn-Mar; Piper Carey, Jr., Linn-Mar

Honorable mention – Jenna Griffith, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Sylvie Meyer, Soph., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Kendal Runels, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Abby Feldmann, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Grace Daack, Soph., Dubuque Hempstead; Emily Richter, Soph., Dubuque Hempstead; Allie Kutsch, Soph., Dubuque Wahlert; Leni Grap, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Sam Harvey, Fr., Liberty High; Grace Heddens, Fr., Liberty High; Kennedy Hochstedler, Sr., West High; Hannah Cantrell, Sr., West High; Allison Post, Jr., Linn-Mar; Elizabeth Sourwine, Jr., Linn-Mar

All-academic (area athletes only) – Madelynn Andersen, Sr., Liberty High; Lillian Anderson, Sr., Liberty High; Hannah Cantrell, Sr., West High; Marnie Vonderhaar, Sr., West High

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.