Regina's Bracken, West Branch's Henson Each Earn RVC Elite Team Honors For Second Straight Season


Photo by Jeff Yoder

Your Prep Sports

Regina and West Branch each had players named to the River Valley Conference Elite Team when the conference released its postseason honors on Wednesday.

West Branch sophomore Nicki Henson and Regina Senior Katie Bracken were both selected to the conference Elite Team that features the top players from both the North and South Divisions for the second consecutive season.

Bracken was one of three pitchers selected to the 17-member elite team after posting a 16-11 record with a 1.39 ERA and 212 strikeouts in 171 1/3 innings.

A four-time all-conference honoree, Bracken was named to the RVC South team as a freshman and sophomore before earning Elite Team honors each of the past two seasons.

Bracken leads Regina with a .359 batting average, eight doubles, five home runs and 21 RBI.

Henson earned all-conference honors for the third consecutive season and landed on the elite team for the second year in a row after leading the Bears in five offensive categories.

The speed centerfielder leads West Branch with a .478 batting average and 41 runs while going 21-for-21 on stolen base attempts.

Regina had a pair of players named to the South Division squad as senior outfielder Jess Hunter and sophomore infielder Annie Gahan both landed on the team.

Hunter is hitting .277 with 14 RBI and 13 stolen bases and has scored a team-high 21 runs while Gahan is hitting .267 with two home runs and 15 RBI.

West Branch junior Mackenzie Heise was a utility pick on the South Division squad.

Heise is hitting .411 with a team-high six home runs and 33 RBI for the Bears and has a slugging percentage of .722.

West Branch junior Kaiya Luneckas and Regina senior Maeve Dunne were both honorable mention picks.

River Valley Conference Softball Teams

Elite TeamP: Isabelle True, Sr., West Liberty; Kamryn Meyer, Sr., Durant; Katie Bracken, Sr., Regina. INF: Haylee Lehman, Jr., West Liberty; Hannah Happ, Sr., Durant; Tarah Wehde, Jr., Camanche; Kortney Drake, Sr., Wilton. OF: Macy Akers, Sr., West Liberty; Ruby Kappeler, Sr., Durant; Neveah Hildebrandt, Soph., Northeast; Nicki Henson, Soph., West Branch. C: Austyn Crees, Jr., West Liberty; Madi Parson, Sr., Camanche. UTIL: Jessie Frasher, Sr., Anamosa; Allie Poston, Jr., Durant; Abby Stock, Sr., Camanche

South Division Team – P: Janey Gingerich, Soph., West Liberty; Jenna Lawson, Sr., Durant; Cassidy Rourke, Sr., Mid-Prairie. INF: Finley Hall, 8th, West Liberty; Annie Gahan, Soph., Regina; Georgia Nisly, Jr., Mid-Prairie. OF: Jess Hunter Sr., Regina; Kira Schult, Jr., Durant; Payton Ganzer, Fr., Wilton; Rylee Vercande, Fr., Mid-Prairie. C: Emily Coss, Soph., Wilton; Laken Hermiston, Sr., Tipton. UTIL: Chloe Wells, Soph., Wilton; Mallory Lange, Fr., Wilton; Abbi Patterson, Jr., Mid-Prairie; Mackenzie Heise, Jr., West Branch

Coach of the year – Chad Libby, West Liberty

North Division Team – P: Kalli Minger, Jr., Anamosa; Alexis Ehlers, Soph., Northeast; Emily Watters, 8th, Anamosa. INF: Ellie Tallman, Jr., Anamosa; Alyssa Barnhart, Sr., North Cedar; Devin Simon, 8th, Cascade; Sydney Hansen, Sr., Monticello. OF: Hanna Nissen, Sr., Camanche; Mae Felton, Sr., Cascade; Grace Lubben, Soph., Anamosa; Makenna McDonald, Jr., Northeast. C: Bree Mangelsen, Jr., Northeast. UTIL: Kassidie Galloway, Jr., North Cedar; Morgan Kremer, Sr., Cascade; Claire Abbott, Jr., Northeast; Alexa Jess, Sr., Anamosa; Tori McDonald, Soph., Monticello

Coach of the year – Brad Holub, Anamosa

Honorable mention – Lexi Bright, Soph., Anamosa; Adyson Nemmers, Jr. Bellevue; Cam Carstensen, Sr., Camanche; Addy Weber, Sr., Cascade; Jada Rock, Sr., Durant; Kylee Kos, Sr., Mid-Prairie; Jaelynn Kraus, Sr., Monticello; Kendall Smith, Fr., North Cedar; Val Spooner, Soph., Northeast; Maeve Dunne, Sr., Regina; Britney Ford, Jr., Tipton; Kaiya Luneckas, Jr., West Branch; Brittney Harned, Jr., West Liberty; Alexis Walker, Soph., Wilton

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.