Fay, Hartman and Law Highlight Area All-MVC Volleyball Selections


Photo by Rob Howe

Your Prep Sports

Liberty High has begun raking in the postseason awards following the most successful program in program history.

Senior Rylee Fay and freshman Cassidy Hartmann were both named to the Mississippi Valley Conference Valley Division first team when the conference announced its postseason honors on Monday.

LeeAnn Potter was a second-team selection as the Lightning had five players earn all-division honors.

Hartmann earned first-team honors after leading the Lightning with 236 kills and ranking second on the team with 61 blocks in her first varsity season.

Fay joined Hartmann on the Valley Division first team following a senior season in which she led the team with 496 assists and 68 ace serves and was fifth with 83 kills.

Potter was a second-team pick in the Valley Division after ranking second on the team with 220 kills and 204 digs.

Junior libero Addie Schmierer and junior setter Haley Hested were both honorable mention picks for the Lightning.

West High sophomore libero Katherine Kouba was named to the Valley Division second team after leading the Women of Troy with 336 digs.

Senior Natalie Young and sophomore Misha Canin were both honorable mention selections for West High.

City High senior Kelsey Law was a unanimous first-team selection in the Mississippi Division after posting a team-high 324 kills and leading Class 5A with 4.9 kills per set.

Junior libero Maya Morales was a second-team pick in the Mississippi Division after leading the Little Hawks with 322 digs.

Seniors Mia Loughran and Lindsey Bolton were both honorable mention Mississippi Division picks.

Mississippi Valley Conference All-Division Volleyball

Mississippi Division

Athlete of the year – Akacia Brown, Sr., Cedar Falls

Coach of the year – Matt Johnson, Cedar Falls

First team – *Eve Magill, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; *Akacia Brown, Sr., Cedar Falls; *Emerson Green, Sr., Cedar Falls; *Alayna Yates, Sr., Cedar Falls; *Kelsey Law, Sr., City High; Jazmine Yamilkoski, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Elyse Winter, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Kylee Oldenburger, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Kirsten Graves, Sr., Cedar Falls

Second team – Emma Link, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Madison Maahs, Soph., Western Dubuque; Meredith Bahl, Soph., Western Dubuque; Maya Morales, Jr., City High; Katy Garrison, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Alexis Moses, Soph., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Jada Golden-Smith, Sr., Cedar Falls; Emmy Wedgbury, Jr., Cedar Falls; Maddie Harris, Soph., Western Dubuque

Honorable mention – Katie Remmert, Fr., Cedar Falls; Alivia Bronner, Soph., Cedar Falls; Bailey Rima, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Gracie Velky, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Hannah Stuelke, Soph., Cedar Rapids Washington; Lucci O’Donnell, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Julia Shoger, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Ashley Hinrichs, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Katelyn Egan, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Hannah Snyder, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Mia Loughran, Sr., City High; Lindsey Bolton, Sr., City High; Ella Meyer, Fr., Western Dubuque; Kaylee Elgin, Sr., Western Dubuque; Jenna O’Donnell, Sr., Waterloo East; Grace Frost, Sr., Waterloo East

Valley Division

Athlete of the year – Aliyah Carter, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert

Coach of the year – Lindsey Beaves, Dubuque Wahlert

First team – *Emily Strauss, Sr., Linn-Mar; *Aliyah Carter, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; *Corinne Meier, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Avery Koll, Sr, Waterloo West; Abby Feldmann, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Rylee Fay, Sr., Liberty High; Cassidy Hartmann, Fr., Liberty High; Cassidy Boche, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Grace Leuken, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert

Second team – Allie Krousie, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Lauren Conrey, Sr., Waterloo West; Katherine Kouba, Soph., West High; Katie Jensen, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Leah Moeller, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; LeeAnn Potter, Sr., Liberty High; Lauryn Montgomery, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Allison Feigenbaum, Jr., Linn-Mar; Riley Jonker, Soph., Linn-Mar; Sahara Williams, Fr., Waterloo West

Honorable mention – Allie Barlow, Fr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Olivia Eichhorn, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Claire Fluent, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Sadie Powell, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Megan Hammerand, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Morgan Hawkins, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Ella Pettinger, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Rachel Eddy, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Addie Schmierer, Jr., Liberty High; Haley Hested, Jr., Liberty High; Natalie Young, Sr., West High; Misha Canin, Soph., West High; Anna Christenson, Sr., Linn-Mar; Emma Casebolt, Jr., Linn-Mar; Caira Hall, Jr., Waterloo West; Gabby Moore, Jr., Waterloo West

*-Unanimous selection

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.