Miller, Coons Headline Solon First-Team All-State Selections


Photo by Rob Howe

Ryan Murken

Your Prep Sports

For the past three seasons Cam Miller and AJ Coons have combined to form one of the most dangerous passing combos in the state.

On Tuesday the duo was recognized for their finest season yet.

Coons and Miller each earned first-team all-state honors when the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association released their all-state teams.

Miller and Coons highlighted four first-team picks for Solon which went 12-1 and finished runner-up in Class 3A.

Both Coons and Miller earned first-team honors for the first time after huge senior seasons that helped Solon return to the Class 3A state title game for the first time since 2010.

Miller was a first-team pick as an at-large player after completing a career-high 70 percent of his passes while passing for 2,436 yards and 28 touchdowns with just four interceptions.

The 6-foot-1, 205-pound Miller also rushed for a team-high 840 yards and 12 touchdowns and accounted for more than 7,000 yards of total offense and 95 touchdowns in three seasons as a starter.

Coons earned first-team all-state honors for the first time after being a second-team pick a year ago.

The 6-foot-4, 210-pound receiver caught a career-high 60 passes for a career-best 961 yards and 12 touchdowns as a senior ranking in the top three in Class 3A in all three categories.

Coons finished his career with 131 receptions for 2,328 yards and 32 touchdowns.

Senior linemen Michael Broghammer and Jace Andregg were each named to the 3A first-team for the first time.

A two-way starter at offensive and defensive tackle the 6-foot-3, 245-pound Broghammer was a first-team pick as an offensive lineman.

Andregg, a 6-foot-2, 205-pound defensive end was a first-team selection as a defensive lineman after ranking fourth on the team with 39.5 tackles and leading Solon with five tackles for loss and four sacks.

Liberty High had a pair of all-state selections after reaching the postseason for the first time in program history.

Senior Drake Woody was a second-team selection as a punter while junior Max Tafolla was a third-team pick as a running back.

Woody averaged 38.9 yards per punt on 27 punts on his way to second-team honors.
Tafolla had the best season of his career, rushing for 1,136 yards and eight touchdowns despite missing a game.

Clear Creek Amana junior TJ Bollers earned all-state honors for the second consecutive season, after being named to the third team as a defensive lineman.

The 6-foot-3, 240-pound Bollers had 29 tackles including four for loss and three sacks.

Iowa Print Sports Writers Association

Class 3A

First team


Quarterback – Calvin Harris, Sr., Western Dubuque 

Tight end/wide receiverA.J. Coons, Sr., Solon; John Palmer, Sr., Glenwood; Brock Johnson, Sr., Winterset   

Lineman – Logan Jones, Sr., Council Bluffs Lewis Central; Josh Volk, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Henry Lutovsky, Jr., Mt. Pleasant; Tyler Maro, Jr., Davenport Assumption; Dodge Sauser, Jr., Grinnell; Michael Broghammer, Sr., Solon   

Back – Wyatt Hunter, Jr., Grinnell; Ben Bryant, Sr., Western Dubuque; Terrance Weah, Sr., Dennison-Schleswig   

Kicker – Aaron Blom, Sr., Oskaloosa   

At-Large – Cam Miller, Sr., Solon  


Lineman – Kaden Sutton, Sr., ADM; Allen Fries, Sr., Harlan; Cody Heisman, Jr., Pella; Jace Andregg, Sr., Solon   

Linebacker – Ben Clark, Sr., Norwalk; Blake Willey, Jr., Dallas Center-Grimes; Ethan Hurkett, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Will McLaughlin, Soph., Harlan   

Back – Tyler Olson, Jr., Webster City; Aaron Downs, Jr., Pella; Logan Schmitt, Sr., Independence; Will Burds, Sr., Western Dubuque   

Punter – Tate Stine-Smith, Jr., ADM   

Kick Returner – Scott Anderson, Sr., Norwalk   

At-large – Aisea Toki, Sr., LeMars  

Second team


Quarterback – Daniel Wright, Sr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton  

Tight end/wide receiver – Deric Fitzgerald, Sr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Logan Shetterly, Sr., Pella; Nathan Conrad, Sr., ADM   

Lineman – Dylan Hopp, Sr., Glenwood; Hayden Amos, Sr., Carlisle; Trevor Griffin, Sr., Council Bluffs Lewis Central; Mason Huerter, Sr., Pella; Brady Schlager, Sr., Spencer; Jeremy Chaplin, Sr., Waverly-Shell Rock   

Back – Nic Goodhue, Sr., Carlisle; Trey Mathis, Jr., Webster City; Bryson Bowman, Sr., Council Bluffs Lewis Central   

Kicker – Brock Sell, Soph., Glenwood   


Lineman – Chase Gladden, Sr., Carroll; Dustin Wille, Sr., Western Dubuque; Kobe Clayborne, Sr., Sioux City Heelan; Ben Belkin, Sr., North Scott   

Linebacker – Seth Adrian, Sr., Davenport Assumption; Spencer Kleene, Sr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Trashaun Willis, Jr., Washington; Nate Link, Sr., North Scott   

Back – Keegan Cox, Jr., Knoxville; Nic Lawton, Jr., Dallas Center-Grimes; Ty Anderson, Sr., North Scott; Silas Bales, Jr., Glenwood   

Punter – Drake Woody, Sr., Liberty High

Kick returner – Tyler Miller, Sr., Oskaloosa  

Third team


Quarterback – Zach Marker, Sr., Norwalk   

Tight end/wide receiver – Logan Halverson, Sr., Decorah; Thomas Fidone, Jr., Council Bluffs Lewis Central; Ethan Carlson, Jr., Norwalk   

Lineman – Gage Linahon, Sr., Newton; Sam Hester, Sr., Norwalk; Will Tasler, Sr., Webster City; Ryan Friese, Sr., Washington; Dylan Reuther, Sr., Independence; Wade Phair, Sr., Sergeant Bluff-Lutton   

Back – Isaiah Spencer, Sr., Spencer; Max Tafolla, Jr., Liberty High; Zach Brand, Jr., Dallas Center-Grimes   

Kicker – Gabriel Austin, Sr., Decorah  


Lineman – TJ Bollers, Jr., Clear Creek Amana; Mitchell Helmkamp, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Jayme Augusma, Sr., Dallas Center-Grimes; Cole Kramer, Sr., Waverly-Shell Rock   

Linebacker – Jacob Hanley, Sr., Waterloo East; Colton Dreith, Sr., Storm Lake; Ben Olson, Sr., Knoxville; Carter Kluesner, Sr., Western Dubuque   

Back – Cejay Whisler, Jr., Carlisle; Zach Carr, Sr., Glenwood; Corey Bates, Sr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Ethan Vetterick, Sr., Norwalk    SR

Punter – Ian Gille, Soph., Sioux City Heelan   

Kick returner – Luke Turner, Sr., Washington   

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.