Juniors Morgan and Smith Headline West High All-State Selections


Photo by Rob Howe

Ryan Murken

Your Prep Sports

A four-sport standout, Marcus Morgan is among the most versatile athletes in the state.

It’s versatility that has helped Morgan establish himself as one of the best quarterbacks in Iowa.

Morgan put that versatility on display this season while accounting for nearly 1,900 yards of total offense and 13 touchdowns on his way to being earning all-state honors from the Iowa Print Sports Writers association for the second consecutive season.

The junior quarterback was named to the Class 4A all-state third team after throwing for 1,723 yards and 11 touchdowns and rushing for 143 yards and two scores in his second season leading the West High offense.

Morgan was a second-team all-state selection as a punter a year ago and averaged 37.9 yards on 26 punts this season.

The 6-foot-2, 165-pound Morgan completed 62 percent of his passes this season and had three games with more than 200 yards passing including a career-high 347 yards in a loss to Southeast Polk.

Junior kicker Owen Smith joined Morgan as the West High all-state honorees earning second-team honors in his first season of action.

Smith connected on all 20 of his extra points this season and went 6-of-9 on field goal attempts with a long of 51.

City High senior center Kolbe Schnoebelen was named to the Class 4A third team.

A two-way starter for the Little Hawks, the 5-foot-9, 197-pound Schnoebelen was a third-team pick as an offensive lineman but also ranked third on the City High team with 28 tackles including four for loss from his defensive line spot.

2019 Iowa Print Sports Writers Association

Class 4A

First team


Quarterback – Mitch Randall, Sr., Waukee  

Tight end/Wide receiver – Tysen Kershaw, Sr., Fort Dodge; Brody Brecht, Jr., Ankeny; Sam O’Dell, Sr., Waukee   

Lineman – Connor Colby, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Griffin Liddle, Jr., Bettendorf; Charlie Nank, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling; Logan Mueller, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Zach Shaner, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Brady Petersen, Sr., Ankeny Centennial   

Backs – Harrison Bey-Buie, Sr., Bettendorf; Gavin Williams, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling; Creighton Mitchell, Sr., West Des Moines Valley   

Kicker – Logan Sunvold, Sr., Southeast Polk 

At-Large – Jase Bauer, Jr., Ankeny 


Lineman – Collin Boehnkamp, Sr., Cedar Falls; Jackson Filer, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling; Nolan Jacobs, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Nick Buttolph, Sr., West Des Moines Valley   

Linebackers – Cade Parker, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Carsen Shelton, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Cole Spyksma, Sr., Waukee; Jake Thompson, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson   

Backs – Drew Jirak, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Xavier Nwankpa, Soph., Southeast Polk; Brandtley Koske, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Michael Keough, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling

Punters – Cael Loecher, Sr., Cedar Falls 

Kick returner – Aaron Smith, Jr., Waukee

At-large – Tucker Langenberg, Jr., Urbandale

Second team


Quarterback – Marcus Orr, Sr., Linn-Mar

Tight end/Wide receiver – Kendrick Watkins-Hogue, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Jack Johnson, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Jordan Kumm, Sr., Ankeny

Lineman – Noah Abbott, Sr., Bettendorf; Jack Witt, Sr., Southeast Polk; Colton Staab, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Drew Hoth, Jr., Cedar Falls; Ryan Boles, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling; Sam Belding, Sr., Ankeny   

Backs – Cairron Hendred, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Jayden Williams, Jr., West Des Moines Valley; Teagan Johnson, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling

Kicker – Owen Smith, Jr., West High

At-Large – Max White, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy


Lineman – Jack Kriebs, Sr., Ankeny; Dominic Wiseman, Soph., Davenport North; Cayden Lovett, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Conner Arndt, Sr., Waukee   

Linebacker – Nyanti Gehrke, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling; Jay Oostendorp, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Jaden Harrell, Jr., Urbandale; Austin Lee, Sr., Fort Dodge

Backs – Owen Schiltz, Sr., West Des Moines Dowling; Jack West, Sr., Davenport North; Jeron Senters, Soph., Linn-Mar; Joe Morrison, Jr., Waukee 

Punter – Jacob Cross, Jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson 

Kick returner – Bryce Albaugh, Sr., Cedar Falls  

At-large – Asle Thorson, Sr., Fort Dodge

Third team


Quarterback – Marcus Morgan, Jr., West High

Tight end/Wide receiver – Ben Sernett, Sr., Cedar Falls; Isaiah Wagner, Sr., Southeast Polk; Will Zahradnik, Sr., Linn-Mar

Lineman – Kolbe Schnoebelen, Sr., City High; Joe Bream, Jr., Urbandale; Cleo Gehrls, Sr., Linn-Mar; Jim Bonifas, Jr., Dubuque Senior; Cael Thorson, Sr., Waukee; Kane Zemo, Jr., Pleasant Valley   

Backs – Nick Pearson, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Harrison Waylee, Sr., Urbandale; Avery Gates, Sr., Ankeny Centennial   

K – Reed Shea, Sr., Bettendorf   

At-Large – Tim Nimely, Jr., Muscatine   


Lineman – Lucas Pieper, Sr., Ankeny Centennial; Max Llewellyn, Jr., Urbandale; Sam Strang, Sr., Davenport Central; Queden Ballew, Sr., Des Moines East  

Linebacker – Desmond Vaughn, Sr., Ankeny Centennial; Ryan Cole, Jr., Bettendorf; Josiah Szabo, Jr., Cedar Rapids-Jefferson; Brecken Manus, Jr., Ankeny   

Backs – Cal Killian, Sr., Johnston; Trajen Thornton, Sr., West Des Moines Valley; Jamarre Robinson, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Cael Boyd, Jr., Ankeny   

Punter – Sam Braksiek, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie   

Kick returner – Antonio Alzheimer, Sr., Des Moines Roosevelt   

At-large – Clayton Muszynski, Soph., Linn-Mar  

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.