Regina Puts Five Players on Class 1A All-State Team in Bounce Back Season


Photo by Rob Howe

Ryan Murken

Your Prep Sports

After a one-year hiatus Regina returned to the UNI-Dome and the Class 1A state semifinals this season.

On Tuesday the Regals were rewarded for their bounce back season.

Regina had five players earn all-state honors from the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association on Tuesday highlighted by a group of three players selected to the Class 1A first team.

Senior offensive lineman Russell Hingst, place kicker Michael Dunn and junior receiver Alec Wick were all first-team Class 1A selections.

Ashton Cook and Rowan Udell were named to the third team after helping Regina post a 9-3 record and reach the Class 1A semifinals for the ninth time in the past 10 seasons a year after missing the playoffs for the first time since 2003.

A 6-foot-2, 230-pound guard Hingst helped pave the way for Regina to average 359 yards and 30.6 points per game on his way to being named a first-team all-state lineman.

Wick earned all-state honors for the second consecutive season.

After being named to the 1A second-team last season the 6-foot-1, 179-pound Wick earned first-team honors for the first time after ranking second in Class 1A in receptions (79), receiving yards (1,1611) and touchdown receptions (14).

Dunn was a first-team all-state pick as a kicker after a stellar senior season in which he missed four kicks in 12 games.

Dunn was 11-of-12 on field goal attempts with a long of 38 and made 42-of-45 PAT attempts.

The senior also had 38 of 71 kick off attempts go for touchdowns and averaged 36.7 yards on 27 punts.

Cook earned all-state honors for the first time in his career after throwing for 2,446 yards and 25 touchdowns.

The 6-foot-4, 181-pound junior completed 57 percent of his passes this season and also rushed for 302 yards and eight touchdowns in his first full-time season behind center.

Udell was a two-way starter on the line that third-team pick as an offensive lineman.

West Branch had four players earn all-state status led by junior Jeff Bowie who was a first-team selection as a defensive lineman.

The 6-foot-5, 250-pound Bowie ranked third on the team with 44.5 tackles from his defensive end spot and led West branch with 22 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks while earning all-state honors for the first time.

Senior running back Tanner Lukavsky was a second-team pick after posting his second consecutive 1,000-yard rushing season.

A third-team all-state pick last season, Lukavsky rushed for 1,214 yards and 13 touchdowns as a senior and also caught 24 passes for 362 yards and five touchdowns.

Senior wide receiver Trey Eagle and junior kicker Cael Fiderlein were both third-team picks for the Bears.

Eagle led West Branch with 41 receptions for 859 yards and set a single-season school record with 13 touchdown grabs.

Fiderlein was automatic as a place kicker, converting 44-of-45 extra points and going seven-for-seven on field goal attempts on his way to third-team all-state honors.

2019 Iowa Print Sports Writers Association

Class 1A

First Team


Quarterback – Hunter Dekkers, Sr., West Sioux 

Tight end/Wide receiver – Kade Lynott, Sr., West Sioux; Parker Kiewiet, Sr., Dike-New Hartford; Alec Wick, Jr., Regina

Lineman – Jordan Ver Meer, Sr., West Lyon; Brett Berg, Sr., Van Meter; Brian King, Sr., South Central Calhoun; Russell Hingst, Sr., Regina; Brock Fox, Sr., Treynor; Jordan DeSmett, Sr., West Lyon  

Back – Cade Bennett, Sr., Dike-New Hartford; Logan Meyer, Sr., West Lyon; Cale Anthony, Sr., Pleasantville

Kicker – Michael Dunn, Sr., Regina

At-Large – Anthony Potthoff, Sr., Van Meter


Lineman – Kristian Martens, Sr., Treynor; Jeff Bowie, Jr., West Branch; Levi Vanden Bos, Jr., Western Christian; Elliot Mohr, Sr., Mediapolis   

Linebacker – Nathan Graves, Sr., Dike-New Hartford; Landon Schleisman, Sr., South Central Calhoun; Parker Fryar, Sr., Van Meter; Caleb Bacon, Jr., Lake Mills 

Back – Jaylin Granstad, Sr., West Lyon; Chase Scheidegger, Sr., South Central Calhoun; Jake Fischer, Sr., Treynor; Brady Duwa, Jr., Sigourney-Keota   

Punter – Kody VanEnglenburg, Jr., Sumner-Fredricksburg   

Kick returner – Gavin Lorenzen, Sr., West Lyon   

At-Large – Davion Sterner, Sr., West Lyon  

Second team


Quarterback – Drew Sonnenberg, Sr., Dike-New Hartford   

Tight end/Wide receiver – Bryce Coppock, Sr., West Sioux; Trystin Ross, Sr., Colfax-Mingo; Brayden Wollan, Jr., Underwood   

Lineman – Kye Borrison, Sr., Mediapolis; Jared Wassou, Soph., Panorama; Kris Kammerer, Jr., Woodward-Granger; Dawson Baumert, Sr., Sigourney-Keota; Caden Wendt, Sr., North Cedar; Landon Nelson, Sr., Underwood   

Back – Ian Abrahamson, Sr., Van Meter; Tanner Lukavsky, Sr., West Branch; J.D. Stout, Jr., Sigourney-Keota   

Kicker – Jason Topete, Jr., West Sioux   

At-Large – Austin Miller, Sr., North Linn  


Lineman – Luke Mulder, Jr., Pella Christian; Eli VanGinkel, Sr., Western Christian; Isaac Gross, Sr., Mt. Ayr; Noah Sletten, Sr., Osage   

Linebacker – Joey Bregar, Sr., Interstate 35; Jack Tiarks, Sr., Treynor; Brennan Holder, Jr., South Central Calhoun; Gauge Erickson, Sr., West Lyon   

Back – Bryce Achenbach, Sr., Woodward-Granger; Zach Madden, Sr., Van Meter; Brock Galetich, Jr., South Hamilton; Nick Ravlin, Sr., Underwood   

Punter – Zane Niebaum, Sr., South Central Calhoun   

Kick returner – Luke South, Sr., Panorama   

At-Large – Seth Salker, Jr., West Sioux 

Third team


Quarterback Aston Cook, Jr., Regina  

Tight end/Wide receiver – Trey Eagle, Sr., West Branch; Spencer Mooberry, Jr., Osage, Dawson Frost, Sr., Mt. Ayr  

Lineman – Logan Tierney, Sr., Denver; Andrew Villegas, Sr., Colfax-Mingo; Rhett Smith, Sr., Wapello; Blake Sade, Sr., Treynor; Rowan Udell, Sr., Regina; Quynton Younker, Sr., ACGC   

Back – Tate Lettow, Sr., Woodward-Granger; Ricky Pforts, Sr., Wapello; Nick Haynes, Sr., Missouri Valley   

Kicker – Cael Fiderlein, Jr., West Branch   

At-Large – Dan Jungling, Sr., Pella Christian 


Lineman – Dalton Block, Sr., Sumner-Fredricksburg; Jacob Dragstra, Jr., Unity Christian; Easton Eledge, Soph., Underwood; Jeremiah Smith, Sr., South Hamilton 

Linebacker – Nick Gerdes, Sr., East Sac County; Reese Jamison, Sr., Woodward-Granger; Drew Taylor, Jr., Panorama; Beau Butler, Jr., South Hardin   

Back – Kobi Baccam, Sr., Western Christian; Ben Dunlap, Jr., Emmestburg; Ryan Hurd, Sr., Cherokee; Owen Timmerman, Sr., Mediapolis   

Punter – Blade Koons, Sr., Van Meter   

Kick returner – Sid Schaaf, Jr., Treynor 

At-Large – Evan Taylor, Jr., Panorama   

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.