West High's Garvin Named MVC Valley Division Wrestler of the Year


Your Prep Sports

The big hardware will be handed out to high school wrestlers on Saturday at the state meet at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Several area wrestlers headed to Des Moines later this week got an early start on collecting awards on Monday when the Mississippi Valley Conference released its Divisional accolades.

West High sophomore 132-pounder Hunter Garvin was named MVC Valley Divisoin athlete of the year while West High coach Nate Moore was honored as Valley Division coach of the year to highlight the area selections.

City High had five wrestlers selected to the Mississippi Division first team.

Seniors Ethan Wood-Finley (113), Reece Caven (145) and Jason Lemus (220) were all first team picks along with sophomore Gable Mitchell (152) and freshman Ben Kueter (160).

West High put six wrestlers on the Valley Division first team led by Garvin.

Sophomore Grant O’Dell (106), juniors Ashton Barker (170), Graham Gambrall (145) and senior Will Hoeft (182) and Anu Dokun (195) all earned first-team honors.

Mississippi Valley Conference All-Division Wrestling

Mississippi Division

Coach of the year – Chris Ortner, Cedar Falls

Athlete of the year – Austin Kegley, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

First team

106 – Henry Koehn, Fr., Cedar Falls

113 – Ethan Wood-Finley, Sr., City High

120 – Austin Kegley, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

126 – Jackson Barth, Sr., Cedar Falls

132 – Jack Plagge, Sr., Cedar Falls

138 – Christian Stanek, Soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier

145 – Reece Caven, Sr., City High

152 – Gable Mitchell, Soph., City High

160 – Ben Kueter, Fr., City High

170 – Nick Pearson, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

182 – Jake Hosch, Sr., Western Dubuque

195 – Ashton Stoner-DeGroot, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

220 – Ryan Cook, Sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Jason Lemus, Sr., City High

285 – Jonathan Savolt, Sr., Western Dubuque

Second team

106 – Blake Gioimo, Fr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

113 – Hunter Kalous, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

120 – Garrett Bormann, Sr., City High

126 – Reese Hayden, Sr., City High

132 – Cadin Hermann, Soph., Waterloo East; Joe Foreman, Jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

138 – Dylan Whitt, Soph., Cedar Falls

145 – Johnny Washburn, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

152 – Levi Burds, Sr., Western Dubuque

160 – Caelen Shannon, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier

170 – Carter Kluesner, Sr., Western Dubuque

182 – Ryan Volk, Jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier

195 – Collin Bohnenkamp, Sr., Cedar Falls

285 – Tate Sykora-Matthess, Soph., Cedar Rapids Washington; Jordan Jacobus, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

Honorable mention

106 – Jagger McCool, Fr., Western Dubuque

113 – Logan Vallejo, Jr., Cedar Falls

120 – Connor McCartan, Soph., Cedar Falls

126 – Aden Abram, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

138 – Jared Cordes, Sr., Western Dubuque

145 – Landon Schaul, Jr., Cedar Falls; Aidan Ernst, Sr., Waterloo East

152 – Eli Sallis, Soph., Waterloo East

160 – Tony Lyon, Sr., Western Dubuque

170 – Ryley Barnett, Soph., Cedar Falls

182 – DaShawn Tigges, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Clayton Scott, Jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie

195 – Sawyer Nauman, Jr., Western Dubuque

220 – Joe Loffa, Sr., Western Dubuque

Valley Division

Coach of the year – Nate Moore, West High

Athlete of the year – Hunter Garvin, Soph., West High

First team

106 – Grant O’Dell, Soph., West High

113 – Jonah Hallam, Soph., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

120 – Kaden Karns, Jr., Waterloo West

126 – Bryce Parke, Jr., Linn-Mar

132 – Hunter Garvin, Soph., West High

138 – Cole Knight, Sr., Waterloo West; Reece Seery, Jr., Linn-Mar

145 – Graham Gambrall, Jr., West High

152 – Abass Kemokai, Jr., Linn-Mar

160 – Tate Naaktgeboren, Fr., Linn-Mar

170 – Ryan Plummer, Sr., Linn-Mar; Ashton Barker, Jr., West High

182 – Will Hoeft, Sr., West High

195 – Anu Dokun, Sr., West High

220 – Gavin Bascom, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

285 – Josh Vis, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

Second team

106 – Cael Long, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

113 – Marwan Al-Tall, Soph., Linn-Mar

120 – Adler Kramer, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead

126 – Jake McLeod, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

145 – Dylan Falck, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

160 – Gabe Anstoetter, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert

182 – Jay Oostendorp, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Bryce Anstoetter, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert

195 – Adam Ward, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead

220 – Luke Gaffney, Soph., Linn-Mar; Brett Pelfrey, Soph., West High; Alex Hudson, Sr., Dubuque Hempstead

285 – Dawson Sweet, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

Honorable mention

106 – Landon Reisen, Fr., Dubuque Hempstead

113 – Isaac Liao, Sr., West High

120 – Parker McBride, Soph., West High

126 – Dakota Tatro, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

132 – Samuel Gisaya, Sr., Linn-Mar; Ben Hoeger, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Nathan Lauterwasser, Sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

138 – Ashtin Falck, Soph., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

145 – Hikaru Carolin, Sr., Linn-Mar

152 – Divion Ocheltree, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

160 – Jack Smith, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead

170 – Connor Dehn, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert

195 – Adam Teare, Jr., Waterloo West

285 – Cayden Lovett, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead

Did you enjoy this subscription free article? Help keep Your Prep Sports free by becoming a member.